Open Plan Living

openplan1

When I lived in the UK for 6 months, one thing that was quite difficult for me to get used to was the fact that all the homes that I saw all felt warm and cozy but sometimes claustrophobic.  I couldn’t believe that in most houses in the UK, every single room had a door.  There’s a separate door to the kitchen, the lounge and the dining room.  I felt like I was walking through a maze.  Though in some aspects, having separate rooms does have it’s pros (ie. children can play in the lounge where the adults talk in the dining room), the con for me was it just didn’t feel like you could entertain very comfortably.  Living in North America, I’m so used to being able to cook in the kitchen and talk to my guests in the family room or at the dining table.  That’s the way I love to entertain.  I want to see what everyone’s doing or hear what they’re talking about while I cook.

But browsing through Living Etc, it looks as though the UK is breaking down those walls and adapting to open plan living. HURRAY!!  Here are some beautiful open plan spaces that I love.

openplan2

openplan3

openplan4

Photos 1,2, 3 are from Living ETC. Photo 4 is from HGTV.
Leave a Reply

